Board of Directors

We have a strong Board of Directors who have a broad range of experience and expertise that includes working across international markets.


Alistair Hutchison - Deputy Chairman

Alistair participated in the buy-out of CBL Insurance in 1996. He has a background as an economist and has specialist expertise in financial services, public administration and micro lending.

Alistair is a past member of the Board of Governors, World Bank, International Monetary Fund and Asian Development Bank and was previously the Financial Secretary of Samoa. He currently holds equity participatory positions in various financial services companies in New Zealand and the Southwest Pacific and is Chairman of Federal Pacific Group Limited.

Alistair has post graduate degrees in Accounting and Economics from Victoria University, New Zealand. In 2014 he was awarded the order of Merit of Samoa for services to Samoa.


Peter Harris - Managing Director

Peter participated in the buy-out of CBL Insurance in 1996, initially heading up sales and international revenue, and was appointed Managing Director in 2007.

Peter was seconded to the Victorian Builders Warranty Advisory Council in 2008. Peter is also an “Authorised Person” with the United Kingdom Financial Conduct Authority and the Central Bank of Ireland. Prior to joining CBL, Peter was an investment banker, a Director and shareholder in General Capital & Commerce Limited, a Director of Boston Marks International Limited, and a senior executive of Fletcher Steel Limited.

Peter was awarded the Air New Zealand Young Businessman of the Year in 1984 and, more recently, was named as both Ernst & Young NZ Entrepreneur of the Year and 2017 ANZIIF Insurance Industry Leader of the Year.

Peter is a Director of the Latin American New Zealand Business Council, a member of the NZ Institute of Management and a foundation member of the Spirit of New Zealand Foundation. He obtained his M Mktg I after studying through the University of Auckland Business School and is an alumni member of the Australian Graduate School of Management.